Blessed New Year!

 So we are four months in.  I don’t know why I did not get this published in January.

I have been a little busy.  I know some people are still waiting for their New Year’s cards.  Maybe this year, they’ll be Happy Spring cards.
  I like to make plans.  The problem I find with many plans I make, they depend on other people doing their part (or the part I have for them).

Being a mom is more complicated than some would think.  Moms make plans and most of them require the rest of the family to be moving in the same direction, at the same speed, at the same moment.  So, anyone ever try herding cats?  Being a mom is kinda like that.

I’m thankful the Lord has plans for me.  I’m a slow learner, well, maybe that isn’t quite right, I do learn things quickly.  Better said, would be I’m intent on where I’m going, so when things don’t go according to MY plan, I try harder.  Thing is, trying harder isn’t always is what is needed.  Most of the time I am slow to Stop.  Look to the Lord.  Listen.

“What are your plans for my life, Lord?”

God has been my lifeline.  My anchor.  My Rock.  I have been learning what it really means to “hold to God’s unchanging hand.”  I have stood on the prow of that ship and looked over the dark troubled waters of sorrow; understanding more than I wanted to the words “…When sorrow like sea billows roll.  What ever my lot, Thou has taught me to say, ‘It is well with my soul.”

And in the midst of a storm that threatened to undo me, that sliver of peace pierced the clouds and my heart to remind me that God is God alone.  He reigns on His throne.  He is faithful no matter what; I can trust Him and He will not leave me nor forsake me.  Therein is Hope.

My lesson has been to make plans, but realize that I have control over nothing in this world.  My ability to plan, direct and execute are no more a barometer of my control than is my alarm clock  the cause of the rising of the sun each day.  The same holds true for you.

On the Journey,

Amy

