The Bird’s Nest

Finis.  Finally.

IMG_6611

After several starts, I knit the final stitch on the Bird’s Nest Shawl from Cheryl Oberle’s book Folk Shawls.

IMG_0703

You can see mine is a little worn.  Sticker residue from the clearance table sticker, and edges a little roughed up.  It is my goal to knit each shawl twice.  I bought this and started my first shawl as I just learned to knit and purl.  It is divided up by country or region.

IMG_6606

The Bird’s Nest is my fifth shawl from the book to knit.  It is the only one under The Himalayas section.  I have also knitted the the Native American Butterfly Shawl sans the fringe, and the three found in The American Heartland section.  I learn something new with every shawl.

Don’t tell anyone, but I never swatch.  I know, that is bad, but does a shawl really need it?  My other bad habit, while I’m confessing, is I never buy the recommended yarn, and even worse, rarely the recommended weight.  I know, that portends a really bad recipe, but so far, I have loved every one.  I think the recipients do too.

IMG_6635

The Bird’s Nest was knitted with KnitPicks’ Comfy yarn in Peapod.  It is a cotton blend that is so soft and light.

A hand knitted shawl is a wonderful way to wrap someone in a hug of love and prayers.

